EMAIL OF THE DAY

“I have been abandoned at many times in my life. By friends who didn’t want to associate with a “fag.” By family members who couldn’t deal with having a gay relative. By coworkers and associates who wondered every time I had a cold or took a sick day, if I finally had that “gay disease.” Through it all I’ve always had faith in my church and the old saying that everything happens for a reason. I would often lie in my parents’ backyard at night, looking up at the stars knowing there was a higher power and someday the answers would all be revealed to us. But now, the abandonment I feel from my church is almost too much to handle. What do I have left? The stars didn’t look real to me last night. My church has told me the stars are not for me, they are for straight people only.”

Leave a Reply

