IN MIERS’ RECORD

Ryan Lizza uncovers a beaut:

Miers’s long affiliation with the ABA will serve up lots of interesting tidbits that are unlikely to please social and legal conservatives. For instance, she apparently submitted the following report to the ABA’s House of Delegates. Here are two of the report’s recommendations: “Supports the enactment of laws and public policy which provide that sexual orientation shall not be a bar to adoption when the adoption is determined to be in the best interest of the child. …
Recommends the development and establishment of an International Criminal Court.”

How will Cheney defend that on Rush?

RAGE ON THE RIGHT: Check out the anger at RedState.org. Money quotes:

Bush thinks he has people instincts. He doesn’t. Putin?! This is pathetic. Air out of my lungs pathetic. And the thing is, I’m not even sure if the instinct about people we’d hope for is the one he’s looking for. Roe (or any other social issue) is simply not on his front burner. I’ve feared this, and now I’m convinced it’s true. In fact, I think he and Rove are intentionally not placing anti-Roe votes on the Court. Roe stands, both Miers and Roberts uphold it (although upholding restrictions) and it becomes clear we have a 7-2 Supreme Court in favor of Roe. At that point, I vote McCain or even Giuliani (although I don’t donate) and just don’t bother myself with the lost cause on the abortion issue. This is terrible.

There’s more:

Bush lied to us. Let Kos cheer. The post below should not get lost, that her name was on a list of acceptables supplied by the Democrats. Bush is a gutless, abortionist liar. I spit on him. Seriously.

And more:

I cannot believe that I ever trusted this man. I am such a fool. I cannot believe that I have been so foolish as to look past the open borders, the excessive spending, the support of moderate Senators over Conservatives, the nation building in Iraq, the twisted bankruptcy “reform,” etc.

My favorite:

could have picked a real conservative. instead, he picks a 60-year-old woman who’s never been married and has never had kids. are we really to believe that she’ll vote to overturn roe? are we to believe that this woman hasn’t had sex outside of marriage over the past several decades? and if she has, hasn’t she been counting on the right to abortion just as other career-oriented women do? bush has betrayed us. i will never again contribute to the republican party.

I wonder how long it will take James Taranto to describe these people as prominent liberals? As for Roe, it seems obvious to me why Bush-Rove don’t want to over-rule it. The last thing they want is to remove that issue from their arsenal of campaign weaponry. Roe has long been the right’s best friend in electoral politics. Why would they give it up now? You don’t think that people like Rove are actually sincere about abortion, do you?

Leave a Reply

