MY NEW TOY

Yes, I know the plastic scratches. But I couldn’t help myself and bought two new iPod nanos for me and the DP. I got a black one. Technically, they’re no better than my old iPod, and actually contain fewer songs. Aesthetically, they’re irresistible. More grist for Virginia. I know I’m guilty of hypocrisy since I’ve whined about what iPod culture is doing to social interaction (while admitting at the time that I was an addict). I’m also guilty of pure consumerism. I just like the look and feel of the thing. Beautiful things need no utilitarian defense. What Apple understands is that beauty matters for its own sake; indeed, that beauty is ultimately all I was buying. In an often ugly world, that’s good enough for me.

Leave a Reply

