QUOTE FOR THE DAY

“‘I voted then, for Saddam, of course, because I was afraid,’ said Jabar Ahmed Ismail, 75, living on a $100-a-month pension from a lifetime as an oil pipeline repairman. ‘But this time, I came here by my own choice. I am not afraid anymore. I am a free man.'” – the New York Times today. This, of course, is bigger news than Judy Miller’s pathetic self-defense. If the turnout reaches 65 percent, this will have been a real triumph for the forces of sanity and self-government. More tomorrow, when there’s more data to analyze. But I can see only progress so far.

Leave a Reply

