GOSS ON TORTURE

It’s a pitiful interview, so clogged with internal contradiction and unpersuasive non-denial denials that you almost feel sorry for the guy. Kudos to ABC News for asking the following question, though:

You know what water-boarding is though, right?

GOSS: I know what a lot of things are, but I’m not going to comment.

GIBSON: Would that come under the heading? Would that come under the heading of torture?

GOSS: I don’t know. I havex97

GIBSON: Well, under your definition that you just gave to me of inflicting pain?

GOSS: Let me put it this way, I’m not going to comment on any individual techniques that anybody has brought forward as an allegation, or dreamed up or anything like that. What we do, as I said many times, is professional, it’s lawful, it yields good results and it is not torture.

No aadministration official I have directly asked about waterboarding has denied it. At the same time, Goss insists that torture is ineffective as an interrogation tool. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

